A Day of Firsts

Hello BCBG heels, circa 2009! I bought these with a DSW gift card I had received for my birthday and a couple of days later I found out I was pregnant with Gabi. Didn’t get much wear out of them then…

IMG_9068 IMG_9065

Don’t mind the artistic flower arrangement… Emma and I had just bought them and I thought they would add a nice touch!

But they seemed to complete yesterday’s outfit, which was influenced by three things:

  1. I spent some time discovering new fashion blogs the other day and one theme in particular stood out to me: transitioning summer shoes, skirts and dresses into fall by using tights and layers.
  2. Since I had to wear my beloved red Portofino shirt (my daughter’s daycare is doing colors this week and yesterday was red day), I decided to pair it with this Kensie skirt I bought this past summer during Nordstrom’s semi-annual sale. This skirt is way out of my comfort zone. Neither the fit nor the aztec print are things you see anywhere else in my closet.
  3. Two of my favorite “down to earth” and “completely relatable” fashion bloggers have recently done posts on mixing prints. Check out Marion and Kimberly. Their posts are wonderful.

IMG_9076 IMG_9097 IMG_9084IMG_9085

Shoes: BCBG (similar; similar; similar, similar); Skirt: Kensie; Shirt: Express; Jacket: Voll (old)

I’m not sure if this outfit works but I am feeling proud of myself for trying something new. And I’m happy that this outfit is appropriate for going grocery shopping and to the library with Emma 😉

Do you have a birthday shoe? Do you mix prints?

SJK

Posted on October 17, 2013, in High Heels, Sandals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

